Forum    Members    Search    FAQ

Board index » Erfworld Things » Gems and Mine4Erf




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:51 am 
User avatar
E is for Erfworld Supporter This user is a Tool! Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Mined 4 Erf Was an active Tool on Free Cards Day
Offline
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 11:53 am
Posts: 22
I was very surprised to learn my graphics card was not able to mine. I know my system is a few years old but it thought it would be able to handle this no problem. In reality, I don't have even half the v-ram needed.

Oh well, I hope this works out. I'll keep following progress in the hope that in the future older systems are able to contribute.

Narthon

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:04 am 
    User avatar
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit This user is a Tool! Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter This user got funny with a rodent Mined 4 Erf Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins Was an active Tool on Free Cards Day
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:52 am
    Posts: 54
    Yeah, same here. :cry:

    Wish I could set it up on my work computer, but I'm pretty sure that's frowned upon...

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 11:17 am 
    User avatar
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit This user is a Tool! This user has been published! Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Armored Dwagon Monthly Winner Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins Was an active Tool on Free Cards Day
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:14 pm
    Posts: 176
    Recent computer death has forced me to rely on an older backup, which I thought might be close to viable.


    ...it has a twelfth of the necessary VRAM. :)

    _________________
    If you're looking for creative prompts, check out Vendanna's twintail natural allies and Rhyme-o-mancy competitions, since they were good enough to tempt me despite my lack of time.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:20 pm 
    This user is a Tool! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Mined 4 Erf Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins Was an active Tool on Free Cards Day
    Offline
    Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:48 am
    Posts: 13
    This is not that surprising. A GPU with as little as 2GB VRAM could still be used for some gaming. Most other uses, even video editing, can be done with less. Just a year ago, 4GB cards were a common sight in new gaming systems.

    I'm no expert on mining, but most likely by the time mining ethereum on older equipment becomes viable (if ever), you'll have upgraded yours.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:59 pm 
    Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit This user is a Tool! Mined 4 Erf Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins This user got funny with a rodent Was an active Tool on Free Cards Day
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 10:22 pm
    Posts: 986
    Pretty much, a GTX970 is the first generation of, (NIVIDIA), card AFAIK with >3gb of VRAM, That means if your system is older than approx 2015 first quarter your unlikely to have such a card, and even then it would have to be a top of the line gaming system. if you wanted a les top of the line card, earliest would be winter 2016.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:18 pm 
    Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Mined 4 Erf This user is a Tool! Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins Was an active Tool on Free Cards Day
    Offline
    Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:17 pm
    Posts: 774
    On this topic, I'm wondering if anybody else is running the barebones GPU for this event?

    I have a GTX970M (the weaker version of the first GPU capable of this xD) and I'm seeing a hashrate of about 2 Mh/s. Is anybody else running this, and are you hashing the same?

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:01 am 
    User avatar
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Mined 4 Erf Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins This user is a Tool! Won Mine4erf for the Marbits
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:54 am
    Posts: 21
    Considering I'm using a Nvidia 1050 TI (October 2016) I was very surprised to find that I couldn't run the miner, as I've used worse cards to mine before and never had a problem

    _________________
    “Let's think the unthinkable, let's do the undoable. Let us prepare to grapple with the ineffable itself, and see if we may not eff it after all.” -Douglas Adams

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:42 am 
    User avatar
    Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter This user is a Tool! Shiny Red Star Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Mined 4 Erf Was an active Tool on Free Cards Day
    Offline
    Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 1:19 pm
    Posts: 153
    It's a completely subjective ballpark estimate, but I think around 70-85% of Erfworld readers either don't have a suitable GPU at all, or won't be breaking even with the electricity cost (although, they won't know about it). The most modern GPUs (the ones that are often in short supply with the cryptocurrencies boom for the last year+, as you can read in many different news sources) are not only faster computationally than the older models, but they're also more efficient in the power drawn.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:06 am 
    Site Admin
    User avatar
    Shiny Red Star This user is a member of Team Erfworld Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter IRC Quote of the Moment Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Mined 4 Erf Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins Won Mine4erf for the Marbits
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:10 am
    Posts: 234
    It wouldn't surprise me for 80% to not work, yeah- the hardware requirements are steep. Even 90% wouldn't be shocking.

    Power efficiency you can tell if you're okay on by seeing if you're making more than a couple of shares per hour; you need to be about 3-4x as power hungry per share as current gen stuff to drop down to only breaking even (at ~15c/kWh electricity). I don't think there are cards which are both old enough to be that inefficient, have enough VRAM to mine, are performant enough to get more than a couple of spins, and support CUDA 3.0 (which the miner needs and excludes the really old top end cards which might just about manage the other criteria).

    Current generation stuff is definitely better, but the 9xx and 8xx nVidia stuff that can actually score a decent number of shares isn't costing more than it's giving. Similar for AMD; historically they used to be better miners until the 1xxx line came along, I think.

    The main reason for adding an alt miner would be for things like the nVidia 1050, which is a latest generation card and about as performant per watt as you get- it just doesn't have the VRAM (in most configurations) for the current miner. It's a perfectly competent card- I have one in my laptop- it's just not *quite* specced high enough. If we added one, I might need to check whether there are sufficiently highly performing cards to not be noticeably poor that would be power inefficient, because we wouldn't want that.

    _________________
    Prediction Booker, Fermi Estimator, Utopian, Knight of Light, Wizard Incantatrix. Also known as Namegduf.

    "Everything Is Complicated, Let's Try Anyway."

    Site Architect, Developer, Administrator, Moderator, Web Team

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 4:13 pm 
    User avatar
    Mined 4 Erf Has collected at least one unit Won Mine4erf for the Marbits
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:24 pm
    Posts: 41
    forgottenfables wrote:
    Considering I'm using a Nvidia 1050 TI (October 2016) I was very surprised to find that I couldn't run the miner...

    I'm using a 4GB 1050 ti, November 2016, and it runs fine; about 11.6 Mh/s. I think all 1050 ti's have 4GB of VRAM, the base 1050 can have 2GB though. You may have to update drivers. Just wanted to let you know it may still work.

  • Tipped by 1 person!
  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:14 pm 
    User avatar
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Mined 4 Erf Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins This user is a Tool! Won Mine4erf for the Marbits
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:54 am
    Posts: 21
    Atevi wrote:
    forgottenfables wrote:
    Considering I'm using a Nvidia 1050 TI (October 2016) I was very surprised to find that I couldn't run the miner...

    I'm using a 4GB 1050 ti, November 2016, and it runs fine; about 11.6 Mh/s. I think all 1050 ti's have 4GB of VRAM, the base 1050 can have 2GB though. You may have to update drivers. Just wanted to let you know it may still work.

    I've updated my drivers and all I'm getting is
    Enter Erfworld username: Forgottenfables
    Run automatically on startup? Run again and choose N at this prompt to remove la
    ter. (Y/N): y
    Mining for Erfworld! Thank you Forgottenfables!

    SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.

    SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.
    m 16:13:25|main ethminer version 0.14.0.dev1
    m 16:13:25|main Build: Windows/msvc / Release
    No GPU device with sufficient memory was found. Can't GPU mine. Remove the -G ar
    gument
    PAUSED - Press any key to resume mining
    Press any key to continue . . .
    m 16:13:29|main ethminer version 0.14.0.dev1
    m 16:13:29|main Build: Windows/msvc / Release
    No GPU device with sufficient memory was found. Can't GPU mine. Remove the -G ar
    gument
    PAUSED - Press any key to resume mining
    Press any key to continue . . .

    I have integrated Intel Graphics and my Nvidia Geforce 1050 ti

    _________________
    “Let's think the unthinkable, let's do the undoable. Let us prepare to grapple with the ineffable itself, and see if we may not eff it after all.” -Douglas Adams

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:51 pm 
    User avatar
    Mined 4 Erf Has collected at least one unit Won Mine4erf for the Marbits
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:24 pm
    Posts: 41
    Hmm, not sure why it isn't working. I only use the 1050 Ti, my integrated video isn't used.

    Here is my initial output:
    Spoiler: show
    Enter Erfworld username: Atevi
    Run automatically on startup? Run again and choose N at this prompt to remove later. (Y/N): n
    Could Not Find C:\Users\{user}\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\mine4erf.lnk
    Mining for Erfworld! Thank you Atevi!

    SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.

    SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.
    m 19:21:28|main ethminer version 0.14.0.dev1
    m 19:21:28|main Build: Windows/msvc / Release
    i 19:21:28|main Found suitable OpenCL device [ GeForce GTX 1050 Ti ] with 4294967296 bytes of GPU memory
    m 19:21:28|main Press 0 to pause mining!
    i 19:21:28|main Connecting to stratum server eu1.ethermine.org:14444
    i 19:21:28|stratum Connected to stratum server eu1.ethermine.org:14444
    i 19:21:28|stratum Starting farm
    cl 19:21:28|cl-0 No work. Pause for 3 s.
    i 19:21:28|stratum Subscribed to stratum server
    i 19:21:28|stratum Authorized worker 0xB6dE5c4849f5b48fcE48a4531aa8a0f85a12f027.138436
    i 19:21:28|stratum Received new job #9c0e16af
    cl 19:21:31|cl-0 New work: header #9c0e16af… target 0000000112e0be826d694b2e62d01511f12a6061fbaec8bc02357593e70e52ba
    cl 19:21:31|cl-0 New seed #a9b0e0c9…
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Platform: NVIDIA CUDA
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Device: GeForce GTX 1050 Ti / OpenCL 1.2 CUDA
    m 19:21:33|main Speed 0.00 Mh/s gpu/0 0.00 [A0+0:R0+0:F0] Time: 00:00
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 OpenCL kernel: Stable kernel
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Build info:

    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Creating light cache buffer, size 39190336
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Creating DAG buffer, size 2508191872
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Loading kernels
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Writing light cache buffer
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Creating buffer for header.
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Creating mining buffer
    m 19:21:39|main Speed 0.00 Mh/s gpu/0 0.00 [A0+0:R0+0:F0] Time: 00:00
    i 19:21:40|stratum Received new job #32ff9f83
    {... 24 seconds later, the speed goes up ...}
    cl 19:22:04|cl-0 Switch time 5686 ms / 5368 us
    m 19:22:05|main Speed 3.15 Mh/s gpu/0 3.15 [A0+0:R0+0:F0] Time: 00:00
    m 19:22:10|main Speed 10.19 Mh/s gpu/0 10.19 [A0+0:R0+0:F0] Time: 00:00
    m 19:22:16|main Speed 11.32 Mh/s gpu/0 11.32 [A0+0:R0+0:F0] Time: 00:00

    I've attached a screenshot from my graphics card system info screen so you can compare.
    Spoiler: show
    Attachment:
    File comment: GTX 1050 Ti system info
    GTX1050ti-info.png
    GTX1050ti-info.png [ 30.87 KiB | Viewed 670 times ]

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:39 am 
    User avatar
    This user is a Tool! Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Mined 4 Erf Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins Was an active Tool on Free Cards Day For when you need it most Won Mine4erf for the Marbits
    Offline
    Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 10:44 pm
    Posts: 27
    I'm running an Alienware I specifically bought for gaming(albeit 3-4 years back), so I was definitely surprised when I didn't have enough power to mine. I've got a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M, which comes up about half a gig short of what's needed.

    I'm rather disappointed, as I would really like to participate in this effort. I wasn't entirely clear on reading the newspost - is there a possibility that slightly weaker GPUs will eventually be supported for this? Or am I SOL until and unless I purchase a new computer?

    _________________
    Current best gem: Heart of the Void - Monumental Bright Violet(80 points), mined 04/12/18

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:53 am 
    User avatar
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Mined 4 Erf Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins This user is a Tool! Won Mine4erf for the Marbits
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:54 am
    Posts: 21
    Atevi wrote:
    Hmm, not sure why it isn't working. I only use the 1050 Ti, my integrated video isn't used.

    Here is my initial output:
    Spoiler: show
    Enter Erfworld username: Atevi
    Run automatically on startup? Run again and choose N at this prompt to remove later. (Y/N): n
    Could Not Find C:\Users\{user}\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\mine4erf.lnk
    Mining for Erfworld! Thank you Atevi!

    SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.

    SUCCESS: Specified value was saved.
    m 19:21:28|main ethminer version 0.14.0.dev1
    m 19:21:28|main Build: Windows/msvc / Release
    i 19:21:28|main Found suitable OpenCL device [ GeForce GTX 1050 Ti ] with 4294967296 bytes of GPU memory
    m 19:21:28|main Press 0 to pause mining!
    i 19:21:28|main Connecting to stratum server eu1.ethermine.org:14444
    i 19:21:28|stratum Connected to stratum server eu1.ethermine.org:14444
    i 19:21:28|stratum Starting farm
    cl 19:21:28|cl-0 No work. Pause for 3 s.
    i 19:21:28|stratum Subscribed to stratum server
    i 19:21:28|stratum Authorized worker 0xB6dE5c4849f5b48fcE48a4531aa8a0f85a12f027.138436
    i 19:21:28|stratum Received new job #9c0e16af
    cl 19:21:31|cl-0 New work: header #9c0e16af… target 0000000112e0be826d694b2e62d01511f12a6061fbaec8bc02357593e70e52ba
    cl 19:21:31|cl-0 New seed #a9b0e0c9…
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Platform: NVIDIA CUDA
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Device: GeForce GTX 1050 Ti / OpenCL 1.2 CUDA
    m 19:21:33|main Speed 0.00 Mh/s gpu/0 0.00 [A0+0:R0+0:F0] Time: 00:00
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 OpenCL kernel: Stable kernel
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Build info:

    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Creating light cache buffer, size 39190336
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Creating DAG buffer, size 2508191872
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Loading kernels
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Writing light cache buffer
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Creating buffer for header.
    cl 19:21:33|cl-0 Creating mining buffer
    m 19:21:39|main Speed 0.00 Mh/s gpu/0 0.00 [A0+0:R0+0:F0] Time: 00:00
    i 19:21:40|stratum Received new job #32ff9f83
    {... 24 seconds later, the speed goes up ...}
    cl 19:22:04|cl-0 Switch time 5686 ms / 5368 us
    m 19:22:05|main Speed 3.15 Mh/s gpu/0 3.15 [A0+0:R0+0:F0] Time: 00:00
    m 19:22:10|main Speed 10.19 Mh/s gpu/0 10.19 [A0+0:R0+0:F0] Time: 00:00
    m 19:22:16|main Speed 11.32 Mh/s gpu/0 11.32 [A0+0:R0+0:F0] Time: 00:00

    I've attached a screenshot from my graphics card system info screen so you can compare.
    Spoiler: show
    Attachment:
    GTX1050ti-info.png


    I finally got it working, I had to edit the internal.bat and add --opencl-platform 1 and it started up just fine

    _________________
    “Let's think the unthinkable, let's do the undoable. Let us prepare to grapple with the ineffable itself, and see if we may not eff it after all.” -Douglas Adams

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 7:43 am 
    Site Admin
    User avatar
    Shiny Red Star This user is a member of Team Erfworld Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter IRC Quote of the Moment Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Mined 4 Erf Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins Won Mine4erf for the Marbits
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:10 am
    Posts: 234
    Thank you for working this out! Would it be possible for you to open a terminal in the folder containing mine4erf, and run ".\internal.exe -G --list-devices"? It tries to detect when it needs to add that parameter to filter out integrated graphics, but it might not be able to recognise yours.

    _________________
    Prediction Booker, Fermi Estimator, Utopian, Knight of Light, Wizard Incantatrix. Also known as Namegduf.

    "Everything Is Complicated, Let's Try Anyway."

    Site Architect, Developer, Administrator, Moderator, Web Team

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 8:31 am 
    User avatar
    Mined 4 Erf Has collected at least one unit Won Mine4erf for the Marbits
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:24 pm
    Posts: 41
    forgottenfables wrote:
    I finally got it working, I had to edit the internal.bat and add --opencl-platform 1 and it started up just fine

    Boop-yeah! Glad it's working. I'll run the ".\internal.exe -G --list-devices" tonight when I'm home on my similar configuration so there can be a comparison if needed.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 1:03 pm 
    Site Admin
    User avatar
    Shiny Red Star This user is a member of Team Erfworld Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter IRC Quote of the Moment Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Mined 4 Erf Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins Won Mine4erf for the Marbits
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:10 am
    Posts: 234
    There's a decent chance of working towards support for a slightly broader range of devices- there's some recent-but-not-enough-VRAM stuff which should be able to mine efficiently enough, just not Ethereum.

    There's a new version of the miner out that has a hardware detection step when you launch it, which should tell you more clearly if your hardware's alright or not rather than producing confusing errors: viewtopic.php?f=34&t=14216&p=234928#p234928

    _________________
    Prediction Booker, Fermi Estimator, Utopian, Knight of Light, Wizard Incantatrix. Also known as Namegduf.

    "Everything Is Complicated, Let's Try Anyway."

    Site Architect, Developer, Administrator, Moderator, Web Team

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:52 pm 
    User avatar
    This user is a Tool! Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Mined 4 Erf Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins Was an active Tool on Free Cards Day For when you need it most Won Mine4erf for the Marbits
    Offline
    Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 10:44 pm
    Posts: 27
    I'd be happy to mine something other then Ethereum for Erf, if you can find a way for my computer to do so.

    _________________
    Current best gem: Heart of the Void - Monumental Bright Violet(80 points), mined 04/12/18

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:23 pm 
    User avatar
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Mined 4 Erf Won Mine4erf for the Gobwins This user is a Tool! Won Mine4erf for the Marbits
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:54 am
    Posts: 21
    JBeshir wrote:
    Thank you for working this out! Would it be possible for you to open a terminal in the folder containing mine4erf, and run ".\internal.exe -G --list-devices"? It tries to detect when it needs to add that parameter to filter out integrated graphics, but it might not be able to recognise yours.


    So it doesn't seem to be picking up my integrated graphics at all o.O if I remove the -opencl line the miner won't run, but it spits out the same recognized devices

    this is when I had the -opencl line
    Spoiler: show
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved

    C:\Users\Shaun>desktop\mine4erf\internal.exe -G --list-devices

    Listing OpenCL devices.
    FORMAT: [platformID] [deviceID] deviceName
    [1] [0] GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
    CL_DEVICE_TYPE: GPU
    CL_DEVICE_GLOBAL_MEM_SIZE: 4294967296
    CL_DEVICE_MAX_MEM_ALLOC_SIZE: 1073741824
    CL_DEVICE_MAX_WORK_GROUP_SIZE: 1024


    and this is when I had edited it back to the base bat file
    Spoiler: show
    C:\Users\Shaun>desktop\mine4erf\internal.exe -G --list-devices

    Listing OpenCL devices.
    FORMAT: [platformID] [deviceID] deviceName
    [1] [0] GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
    CL_DEVICE_TYPE: GPU
    CL_DEVICE_GLOBAL_MEM_SIZE: 4294967296
    CL_DEVICE_MAX_MEM_ALLOC_SIZE: 1073741824
    CL_DEVICE_MAX_WORK_GROUP_SIZE: 1024


    Definitely scratching my head over this one. I'll futz around with the Hardware detection script and see if I can't get it to recognize without having to add the opencl line later, for now I've got to get ready for work and feed my son :)

    _________________
    “Let's think the unthinkable, let's do the undoable. Let us prepare to grapple with the ineffable itself, and see if we may not eff it after all.” -Douglas Adams

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 8:48 pm 
    User avatar
    Mined 4 Erf Has collected at least one unit Won Mine4erf for the Marbits
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:24 pm
    Posts: 41
    To compare, here's my GTX 1050 Ti initial dump:
    Code:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.16299.248]
    (c) 2017 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\...\erfMiner>internal.exe -G --list-devices

    Listing OpenCL devices.
    FORMAT: [platformID] [deviceID] deviceName
    [0] [0] GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
            CL_DEVICE_TYPE: GPU
            CL_DEVICE_GLOBAL_MEM_SIZE: 4294967296
            CL_DEVICE_MAX_MEM_ALLOC_SIZE: 1073741824
            CL_DEVICE_MAX_WORK_GROUP_SIZE: 1024

    I get the same hardware summary when starting the Mine4Erf 0.2.3-beta.

    The differences I see between forgottenfables and my summary are Windows version 6.1.7601 (Windows 7/sp1) vs 10.0.16299.248 (Win10) and platformID [1] vs [0].

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
    Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
     
    Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 

    Board index » Erfworld Things » Gems and Mine4Erf


    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

     
     

     
    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum

    Search for:
    Jump to: