Forum    Members    Search    FAQ

Board index » Your Things » Your Games




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 453 posts ] 
 
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 7:31 am 
Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user is a Tool! Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter Here for the 10th Anniversary Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter Has collected at least one unit
Offline
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 12:17 am
Posts: 489
Bodyguard? I think you mean stab factory!

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 7:53 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 11:45 am
    Posts: 1332
    Alternative13 wrote:
    [Worst case scenario, maybe, if we build in a place where neither wood nor stone can be harvested naturally (if such a place exists). ?

    MarbitChow wrote:
    Image
    As always, let me know if any corrections are required.

    Or how about one with not enough stone or wood to build roads ?

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:24 am 
    User avatar
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 8:06 am
    Posts: 63
    Location: Czech Republic
    Um.. clarification please?

    Intocabille_CZ wrote:
    Oh yeah... if I get attacked, I will respong with shifting the banked action into one blow back I guess. I will beat them with power of bacon in my hands...


    It seems that Pace should have hit back at least once.

    MarbitChow wrote:
    There won't be any circumstances in which one side gets to attack more than once without the other side being allowed to respond (short of the entire side being calmed / paralyzed). This is true for both your side and your opponents.


    I assume that is why I was attacked twice (more than once without respond?) since there was 1 action "banked" ? so 1 banked (possible response) +1 more = 2 attacks on me?

    Also... How come I ate second time one of the 2 bacons I carried over? I free ate bacon from the pigs in previous area before crossing the border and took 2 bacons with me, to be able to keep myself alive and not starving longer. It was not during the banked action, I still have that one. Which should be spent on hitting back anyway. But now I get only one round of not being hungry. Since you made so that I ate the bacon in previous round.

    Proposal: Forget the "should hit back" leave the 1 banked action, but return me the bacon. I will eat it as part of the upcoming turn. I have 5 actions now. 4 + 1 banked. I will eat once the 1 of 2 bacons I should have, bringing me to the 9/10 HP and then attack (the most wounded and not attack-allowed-depleted) enemy with remaining actions. That should still leave me with 1 bacon though. I hope I am making sense.

    _________________
    Image

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:46 am 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 9:14 am
    Posts: 7
    ETheBoyce wrote:
    Bodyguard? I think you mean stab factory!

    All the better! :D
    Werebiscuit wrote:
    Or how about one with not enough stone or wood to build roads ?

    Enough wood to build two roads (one in, one out) - you can harvest resources on both ends of the road, so an adjacent zone with stone would be all that is needed.
    You will also notice that I also cover only one resource type being available: Building a road into the triangle is enough to eventually connect that zone to the future quarry in a way that a single person can go back and forth between it and the stone formation currently guarded by Green Orbs twice with four actions - that's twelve stone by one person with a cart in a single round. The wood available is enough to connect it to the network. :)

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:52 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 11:45 am
    Posts: 1332
    Alternative13 wrote:
    Werebiscuit wrote:
    Or how about one with not enough stone or wood to build roads ?

    Enough wood to build two roads (one in, one out) - you can harvest resources on both ends of the road, so an adjacent zone with stone would be all that is needed.
    You will also notice that I also cover only one resource type being available: Building a road into the triangle is enough to eventually connect that zone to the future quarry in a way that a single person can go back and forth between it and the stone formation currently guarded by Green Orbs twice with four actions - that's twelve stone by one person with a cart in a single round. The wood available is enough to connect it to the network. :)


    I thought we needed some stone in the road...or can you now build wooden roads ? There is no natural stone in the triangle leading to the one I pictured, thus it IS our worst case scenario. Can you say bottleneck ? ;)

    And I do believe both ends of a road need to be completed before it acts as a road ( 1 point travel)...so building a road into a triangle isn't enough

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:18 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 9:52 pm
    Posts: 620
    Werebiscuit wrote:
    I thought we needed some stone in the road...or can you now build wooden roads ?
    If we gathered 10 wood from the trees there, we would only have to carry a minimum of 2 pieces of stone into the pool zone to build a road out. The other 13 stone could be placed in the other side of the road. Of course, if we're building from B2, all 15 stone would also have to be carted into B2 from the quarry.


    Slight order change: Dod leaves his cart behind as he scarpers north, eats 2 pieces of bacon (using free-eat and regular action), and banks remaining action.


    I'm thinking the best way to win this battle is by concentrating our firepower on one target at a time while keeping the others calmed. EXP is awarded by work done, not given on the kill, so there is no reason not to gang up on enemies.


    The log for last turn seems to be missing either a banked action for Eric, or an attack by Eric on One.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:36 am 
    User avatar
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 8:06 am
    Posts: 63
    Location: Czech Republic
    Swodaems wrote:
    I'm thinking the best way to win this battle is by concentrating our firepower on one target at a time while keeping the others calmed. EXP is awarded by work done, not given on the kill, so there is no reason not to gang up on enemies.


    Question is, can you attack something more than 5 times if said target can attack only 4 times?

    _________________
    Image

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:40 am 
    This user is a Tool! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:25 am
    Posts: 723
    Location: Bay Area, California
    [quote="MarbitChow"]
    BrimStone (Guy the Intrepid) : {in B2} (free) eat, Equip bacon (max), Move S {to C2} (3 action), Attack Orb[/spoiler]

    Marbit - I did eat and then equipped a new bacon, so that is why I thought I still had one in hand for this turn to eat.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:47 am 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:41 pm
    Posts: 2521
    Pace is definitely missing an attack, and I'll review the bacon situation. (Bacon: serious business.) Also, Apollo the Mystic/Stone Mason will be materializing at the end of this turn, and can place orders next turn.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:51 am 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:41 pm
    Posts: 2521
    Intocabille_CZ wrote:
    Question is, can you attack something more than 5 times if said target can attack only 4 times?
    Up to 3 attackers can attack 1 defender on each action. If each attacker has a banked action, 15 attacks can be made against a defender in a single turn.

    Once ranged weapons are introduced, any number of ranged attackers can concentrate on a single defender, as long as there are no non-ranged attackers engaging it (and it hasn't closed to engage with melee).

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:58 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 9:52 pm
    Posts: 620
    MarbitChow wrote:
    Intocabille_CZ wrote:
    Question is, can you attack something more than 5 times if said target can attack only 4 times?
    Up to 3 attackers can attack 1 defender on each action. If each attacker has a banked action, 15 attacks can be made against a defender in a single turn.

    Once ranged weapons are introduced, any number of ranged attackers can concentrate on a single defender, as long as there are no non-ranged attackers engaging it (and it hasn't closed to engage with melee).
    So we could hit a single enemy with a maximum of 15 attack actions if we used banked actions or 12 if we just use regular actions.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 12:35 pm 
    User avatar
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 8:06 am
    Posts: 63
    Location: Czech Republic
    MarbitChow wrote:
    Once ranged weapons are introduced, any number of ranged attackers can concentrate on a single defender, as long as there are no non-ranged attackers engaging it (and it hasn't closed to engage with melee).


    How would that work? Shooting into different area? I mean it does not seem like moving to engage takes any time, so as soon as ranged unit enters hex with melee unit, they can engage in melee combat immediately.

    _________________
    Image

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 12:43 pm 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:41 pm
    Posts: 2521
    Intocabille_CZ wrote:
    MarbitChow wrote:
    Once ranged weapons are introduced, any number of ranged attackers can concentrate on a single defender, as long as there are no non-ranged attackers engaging it (and it hasn't closed to engage with melee).
    How would that work? Shooting into different area? I mean it does not seem like moving to engage takes any time, so as soon as ranged unit enters hex with melee unit, they can engage in melee combat immediately.
    For defenders, attacking the aggressors as they enter the zone (which is really only good for the first action).
    Paralyzed targets can be attacked at range until the paralysis breaks. Calmed targets can be hit by a single volley.
    Defensive structures can prevent attackers from closing to melee.

    The circumstances are somewhat limited, but that's intentional, since I don't want ranged weapons to be completely "overpowered", as they are IRL.

    You won't be able to shoot across zones.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 3:57 pm 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 9:14 am
    Posts: 7
    MarbitChow wrote:
    For defenders, attacking the aggressors as they enter the zone (which is really only good for the first action).

    So are the Green Orbs ranged attackers or would they have gotten an additional free attack if they were? Does that trigger for each invader separately? It seems hard to imagine the sequence of events.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:36 pm 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:41 pm
    Posts: 2521
    Alternative13 wrote:
    So are the Green Orbs ranged attackers or would they have gotten an additional free attack if they were? Does that trigger for each invader separately?
    If the orbs had ranged attacks (and greater intelligence), they could all have attacked a single individual. The number of attacks they get doesn't change - just the available targets.

    No one is in melee combat until they make a melee attack, or are targeted by a melee attack. Once one of those conditions occurs, they *are* in melee combat until they flee or all attackers targeting them are neutralized (calmed / paralyzed / killed).

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:49 pm 
    This user is a Tool! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:25 am
    Posts: 723
    Location: Bay Area, California
    Marbit, I found what happened. My eat action got recorded after my move and healed me. I ate first then grabbed one, I should have 9 hits left instead of 10.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:43 am 
    User avatar
    Battle Crest Pins Supporter Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter This user is a Tool! Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Shiny Red Star Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter This user posted the comment of the month This user is a part of Erfworld canon! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:52 pm
    Posts: 4412
    Location: Morlock Wells
    MarbitChow wrote:
    I said that before I allowed scouts to Forage for XP. Cross a zone and forage (regular instead of as a free action) and you gain 4 XP, and I don't have to worry about resolving what it means to be 'between zones'.
    You already very clearly resolved that, by stating previously that we were still in the starting zone until all 3 actions were completed.
    Werebiscuit wrote:
    I'm sorry 0beron but I think it makes more sense and brings Scout more into line with the rest of the professions
    From an XP perspective this actually doesn't change Scout at all, rather it's nerf to everyone across the board from a tactical perspective. It means we can no longer launch strong 5-action attacks when we know an enemy is waiting, and we cross long distances more slowly. I know the map is pretty small at the moment, but I'm sure in time it will grow and the difference between crossing 4 zones in 4 versus 3 turns matters.

    _________________
    "I'm afraid I don't understand. And also afraid that I do."
    GJC wrote:
    Two guys with basically the same name in a discussion about a character getting cloned.
    There's gotta be a good joke in here somewhere.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:00 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 11:45 am
    Posts: 1332
    Hyde will wait to see if orb 3 is calmed then attack orb 5 with Guy if orb 3 is calm or keep distracting orb 3 by attacking it if it is still angry.
    Can he free eat his bacon during the fight or do I need to specify an eat action ? If he can he will eat it after all attacks

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2013 10:37 am 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:41 pm
    Posts: 2521
    Sorry for the lack of responses lately. Bumping this now.

    1) There were 3 mushrooms harvest and eaten in the Mushroom / Pig zone (B2). People who consumed bacon in C2 get their bacon back.

    2) 0beron is completely correct. I retract what I said about eliminating the ability to partially cross a zone.

    I'm going to add the clarification that movement isn't something that you can partially complete - it's not like construction. If you attempt to cross a zone border, you will use up all of your remaining actions to do so, including banked actions, automatically. If you don't have enough actions to complete the move, then you can continue next round, but you can't bank an action and partially start a move during the same turn.

    3) If your character is in combat, the default order is to attack whatever is attacking you. If you don't supply orders for your character, this means that you will probably un-calm the hostile that was attacking you.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Equilateratoria
     Post Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2013 11:19 am 
    User avatar
    Battle Crest Pins Supporter Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter This user is a Tool! Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Shiny Red Star Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter This user posted the comment of the month This user is a part of Erfworld canon! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:52 pm
    Posts: 4412
    Location: Morlock Wells
    MarbitChow wrote:
    I'm going to add the clarification that movement isn't something that you can partially complete - it's not like construction. If you attempt to cross a zone border, you will use up all of your remaining actions to do so, including banked actions, automatically. If you don't have enough actions to complete the move, then you can continue next round, but you can't bank an action and partially start a move during the same turn.

    Thanks Marbit, that's a fair restriction.

    _________________
    "I'm afraid I don't understand. And also afraid that I do."
    GJC wrote:
    Two guys with basically the same name in a discussion about a character getting cloned.
    There's gotta be a good joke in here somewhere.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
    Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
     
    Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 453 posts ] 

    Board index » Your Things » Your Games


    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

     
     

     
    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum

    Search for:
    Jump to: