Forum    Members    Search    FAQ

Board index » Your Things » Your Games




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 579 posts ] 
 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:05 pm 
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 181
yeah, that is the problem...

be better to grab heavy, or baring that well protected, beefy, block, and guard.

Though I do agree with the sentiment... just freekin charge, will clear out the expendables and make them all stop dodging.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:28 pm 
    Offline
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 11:45 am
    Posts: 1332
    tigerusthegreat wrote:
    Once stacking/buffing is done, Regus will move to I9



    Anex looks over at Regus and perks a tired brow. "Oh you, brave, impetuous fool ! How like you to berate the men and then try to save them by imperilling yourself" she dodges behind a rock at G12 ducking and weaving all the while preparing to unleash her discus at the splody mouse (SM02) should it get to the J line next to Regus and not explode.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:44 pm 
    Offline
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 11:45 am
    Posts: 1332
    Please note that the splody mice can reach the k-line between k1- k12 for SM01 and the i-line between i5 -i14 for SM02 and plan your moves accordingly.
    We've already got 2 characters who'll be damaged by their explosions on turn 1.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:59 pm 
    User avatar
    Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:40 pm
    Posts: 907
    Location: Internets the World of Webs
    For anyone who doesn't object to this plan:

    On Round 6, a Lesser Boosted and Veiled (as T. Coil) Whump moves to L3 behind the rock and dodges.

    We wait to see if the Splody Mouse takes the bait, then everyone else (except Fort and Wegio, who's needed as a bodyguard) will prepare to enter on round 4 (or 5, if the enemy moves first).

    _________________
    "The Wizard is Charlie!"

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:57 pm 
    Offline
    Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 7:52 am
    Posts: 426
    It doesn't have immediete benefits compared to the having numerous other abilities, but gaiing an extra 3 combat stats and higher base stats seems to be nice.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:02 pm 
    E is for Erfworld Supporter Battle Crest Pins Supporter Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter This user is a Tool! Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 2:43 am
    Posts: 438
    The Colonel wrote:
    Is it wise to learn heavy?
    Yuri has no complaints.

    That said, there are an increasingly broad array of options available, and mounts are very, very nice. You might want to glance over the newest proposed rules and consider your build several levels out into the future before making a decision.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 10:31 pm 
    Has collected at least one unit Here for the 10th Anniversary
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:40 pm
    Posts: 808
    tigerusthegreat wrote:
    Additional Abilities are unique modifiers. Each can only be purchased once.

    Unless I missed an exception.


    I'm pretty sure you can take them repeatedly - how else did William Tell get such a ridiculously high Com score?

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:18 pm 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:13 pm
    Posts: 181
    leveling, a lot... also being a heavy while leveling. gives some nasty buffs, though mounts are really sweet.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:34 pm 
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:17 pm
    Posts: 763
    Seems that a heavy flier is the best of all worlds: lots of stats perlevel and lots of movement speed

    _________________
    Prehendo Victoria - My first erfworld story. Comment thread

    Last Updated 01/10/2017

    Imperial Destiny (My Science Fiction Story) Updated 07/23/2015 (First Page)

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 12:03 am 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:13 pm
    Posts: 181
    also a big fat target, with no way to gain cover... and no mount to suck up the damage.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:49 am 
    User avatar
    Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:40 pm
    Posts: 907
    Location: Internets the World of Webs
    Nnelg wrote:
    For anyone who doesn't object to this plan:

    On Round 6, a Lesser Boosted and Veiled (as T. Coil) Whump moves to L3 behind the rock and dodges.

    We wait to see if the Splody Mouse takes the bait, then everyone else (except Fort and Wegio, who's needed as a bodyguard) will prepare to enter on round 4 (or 5, if the enemy moves first).

    So, can I take it nobody objects? Can we lock this in for our actions up through round 6?

    Edit: I would like to make one change though; it should be a Lesser Curse that's on Whump, since he can easily soak the damage and give us some good karma. (Which we'll be using on Anex).

    _________________
    "The Wizard is Charlie!"

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:21 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 11:45 am
    Posts: 1332
    Heavy is the gift that keeps on giving (apart from movement). Heavy flier is probably the best of all possible permutations as you have great stats and superb speed...and exactly the same defensive cover options as everyone else (note: not available while flying). However Heavy archer is not to be sniffed at either as the range completely negates the heavy's disadvantage of fixed movement in most situations and even when the opponents find cover you are no worse off than a heavy warrior in the same situation. Infact the archer is still better off as he still can hit (at a deduction) or do the same as a warrior and move to a position where he has an unobstructed hit.

    Yes, the lack of mounts is a disadvantage but one that neither Yuri or Rolf is finding disabling as yet (depending, as they are, on their massive def and hits as a damage soak). In fact heavy has some hidden advantages in that it allows usage of siege weapons, as Rolf seriously wants a mobile ballista in Darkness Rising and if it's his tower that goes down is considering strapping the ballista to a naughty kitty saddle :twisted:

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:42 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 11:45 am
    Posts: 1332
    Nnelg wrote:
    Nnelg wrote:
    For anyone who doesn't object to this plan:

    On Round 6, a Lesser Boosted and Veiled (as T. Coil) Whump moves to L3 behind the rock and dodges.

    We wait to see if the Splody Mouse takes the bait, then everyone else (except Fort and Wegio, who's needed as a bodyguard) will prepare to enter on round 4 (or 5, if the enemy moves first).

    So, can I take it nobody objects? Can we lock this in for our actions up through round 6?

    Edit: I would like to make one change though; it should be a Lesser Curse that's on Whump, since he can easily soak the damage and give us some good karma. (Which we'll be using on Anex).


    OOC Much as I'd love to use your good karma, from my reading of the luckamancer rules we don't actually get to specify where WE use the built up karma...good or bad... that the GM's perogative. We get to specify where we use the luck...again good or bad. So from my reading karma isn't as specifically applicable as luck. I'd rather we used the bad luck on them... sepcifically SM02 which will tear up Regus fairly badly even on an average roll ...and there's 3 crossbows to follow :shock: :( Not to mention the freakin Cloth golem lumbering behind them. :!: All of which can reach him. /OOC

    From behind her rock Anex sizes up the situation and calls out "Zed -2 ! Your commander needs you ! NOW !"

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 5:53 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    WaterMonkey314 wrote:
    I'm pretty sure you can take them repeatedly - how else did William Tell get such a ridiculously high Com score?


    As mentioned, levelling, Heavy's bonus to AP and stat points, AND an obsessive spending of said APs and stat points on Combat (almost) exclusively. Hopefully, Will shall eventually have some Siege ability a-la Discworld's The Piece-Maker so that the cannon-archer build would be complete.

    Zed-2 is taking the other route of max-defense. I've yet to decide whether to purchase Heavy or not.

    Speaking of Zed-2 ...

    I presume you want Anex Guarded. Zed-2 does so, trying to keep a stern face wielding the puny shield while shaking in his boots.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:06 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 11:45 am
    Posts: 1332
    BLANDCorporatio wrote:
    Speaking of Zed-2 ...

    I presume you want Anex Guarded. Zed-2 does so, trying to keep a stern face wielding the puny shield while shaking in his boots.


    OOC Although she may have an authoratative voice Anex has no leadership and is thus just a grunt like Zed-2. Regus is the group's commander and is likely about to be blown up, shot and then thumped by a cloth golem (PG02).
    He could do with some guard actions. Much as I H8 to suggest it there is one square beside Regus that the splody mouse can't touch and that Zed-2 will recieve cover from any crossbow bolts while being able to give guarding actions...but much as I H8 to say it the cloth golem (PG02) can still attack there... Can you guess where it is yet ? ;)

    It's H8 just in case you hadn't guessed
    /OOC

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:24 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 11:45 am
    Posts: 1332
    BTW Marbit...just for info.
    I understand that if we use lesser curse and the spoldy mouse rolls twice but the second roll is higher that we accrue no karma since it's the original roll that counted anyway so luck changes nothing.
    But does that mean we've used a juice point also...or does that only apply when luck/karma takes a hand ?

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:12 am 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:41 pm
    Posts: 2521
    Werebiscuit wrote:
    if we use lesser curse and the spoldy mouse rolls twice but the second roll is higher that we accrue no karma since it's the original roll that counted anyway so luck changes nothing.
    But does that mean we've used a juice point also...or does that only apply when luck/karma takes a hand ?
    Lesser Curse is like a Ward. The caster spends Juice when he casts it, to place it on the target, and it remains until it's used. If the 2nd roll is higher, the curse isn't used up, and no Karma is accrued.

    Also, I apologize for the lack of progress. Work has been a bit heavy lately. I hope to run the next turn tomorrow morning.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:25 am 
    User avatar
    Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:40 pm
    Posts: 907
    Location: Internets the World of Webs
    Werebiscuit wrote:
    OOC Much as I'd love to use your good karma, from my reading of the luckamancer rules we don't actually get to specify where WE use the built up karma...good or bad... that the GM's perogative. We get to specify where we use the luck...again good or bad.

    I meant that we'd be putting a Lesser Boost on Anex, which would cause bad karma (therefore cancelling out and using up any good karma we have).

    EDIT:
    Werebiscuit wrote:
    Regus is the group's commander and is likely about to be blown up, shot and then thumped by a cloth golem (PG02).

    Actually, I don't think Regus has actually moved yet; since he only has combat of 5 and Whump's moving out in phase 6.

    I think the only thing remaining to determine is stacking, so...
    Everyone but Kilroy, Moe, and Zed 2 are in Regus's stack (since those three are the least likely to be needing his leadership bonus this round).

    _________________
    "The Wizard is Charlie!"

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:48 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 11:45 am
    Posts: 1332
    Nnelg wrote:
    I meant that we'd be putting a Lesser Boost on Anex, which would cause bad karma (therefore cancelling out and using up any good karma we have).
    Ah got you now Chief. :D Yes I'm with the program on that one.

    EDIT:
    Nnelg wrote:
    Werebiscuit wrote:
    Regus is the group's commander and is likely about to be blown up, shot and then thumped by a cloth golem (PG02).
    ).Actually, I don't think Regus has actually moved yet; since he only has combat of 5 and Whump's moving out in phase 6.


    Nor has Anex moved as her orders are taken with a view that she waits till Regus has moved... but both of them have given detailed orders to move and Regus's order puts him in an extremely vulnerable position. Note the enemy ALSO move on phase 5 along with Regus so we can't stop them attacking him.
    Nnelg wrote:
    I think the only thing remaining to determine is stacking, so...
    Everyone but Kilroy, Moe, and Zed 2 are in Regus's stack (since those three are the least likely to be needing his leadership bonus this round).

    If Zed-2 is moving to protect Regus like I asked he will need every point he can muster...and that includes Regus's leadership boost to Com & Def. Since Zed -2 could be attacked by PG02
    {EDIT} BTW it is tigerusthegreat that determines his stack, though there's nothing to stop you suggesting the above stacking to him


    Last edited by Werebiscuit on Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:24 am, edited 2 times in total.
  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:11 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 11:45 am
    Posts: 1332
    For reference Anex plans to delay her fire actions until the marbit crossbows have taken an action and indeed into next round. So she will still be dodging if they fire at her ( or Whump or Regus).

    At the Start of round 2 she will declare Mighty Blow ( which will probably only affect her second shot -the one on phase 10 that's not delayed) and fire on phases 11 & 10 :o with a com of 11 on phase 11 (assuming Regus made it through the 1st round) & 14 on phase 10. I'm not sure how that affects the luck boost, whether she get's it for both shots or not but I'm assuming from Marbit's description that she'll get 2 chances for it to affect her if the first one doesn't use it up.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
    Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
     
    Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 579 posts ] 

    Board index » Your Things » Your Games


    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Deck of Cards, Draorn, Hungirly awaits, jayson, SeraphRedux, wiz, WurmD and 15 guests

     
     

     
    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum

    Search for:
    Jump to: