Forum    Members    Search    FAQ

Board index » Your Things » Your Games




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 347 posts ] 
 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:35 am 
User avatar
Battle Crest Pins Supporter Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter This user is a Tool! Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Shiny Red Star Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter This user posted the comment of the month This user is a part of Erfworld canon! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:52 pm
Posts: 4412
Location: Morlock Wells
I believe the rules said mounts suffer no penalty when moving a corpse, as long as the corpse isn't itself a mount.

_________________
"I'm afraid I don't understand. And also afraid that I do."
GJC wrote:
Two guys with basically the same name in a discussion about a character getting cloned.
There's gotta be a good joke in here somewhere.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:40 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    MarbitChow wrote:
    How do mounts handle carrying corpses?


    0beron's got that covered.

    MarbitChow wrote:
    Can we pull wagons? :D


    If you had any, maybe :P

    Now seriously, you can assume that something like that is going on when you lug corpses around (apart from when dragging them along as riders).

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:44 am 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:41 pm
    Posts: 2521
    Sorry - should have been more specific. If a mount is pulling 4 corpses, how is the movement penalty calculated? I can see this being a 2/5th move penalty, a 1/4 move penalty, or a 1/3 move penalty, depending on how the 'riding' corpse is factored in.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:04 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    MarbitChow wrote:
    Sorry - should have been more specific. If a mount is pulling 4 corpses, how is the movement penalty calculated? I can see this being a 2/5th move penalty, a 1/4 move penalty, or a 1/3 move penalty, depending on how the 'riding' corpse is factored in.


    Fair question. You can consider that the stack would contain one living unit (the mount) and three corpses. The corpse carried as a rider won't enter this calculation.

    So total units 4, living units 1. So you'd have 1/4 movement.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:08 am 
    User avatar
    Battle Crest Pins Supporter Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter This user is a Tool! Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Shiny Red Star Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter This user posted the comment of the month This user is a part of Erfworld canon! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:52 pm
    Posts: 4412
    Location: Morlock Wells
    BLAND, I see what you're saying but it was worded in a slightly confusing way. Perhaps this is more clear?
    Carrying Corpses wrote:
    Living Mounts can carry 1 non-mount corpse without incurring a penalty. A corpse so carried does not count in the calculation of total units in the stack for the purpose of determining movement penalty.

    So for example a stack consisting of 1 mount and 4 non-mount corpses would incur a 1/4 penalty because one of those 4 corpses is never counted.

    _________________
    "I'm afraid I don't understand. And also afraid that I do."
    GJC wrote:
    Two guys with basically the same name in a discussion about a character getting cloned.
    There's gotta be a good joke in here somewhere.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:16 am 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:41 pm
    Posts: 2521
    So what's next? Do we still need to formally end the turn, or are we able to pop another unit this turn? If we pop a unit, can it also move? (If so, I'm thinking we pop a corpse-bot and prepare to move on to the next target.)

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:21 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    0beron wrote:
    BLAND, I see what you're saying but it was worded in a slightly confusing way. Perhaps this is more clear?
    Carrying Corpses wrote:
    Living Mounts can carry 1 non-mount corpse without incurring a penalty. A corpse so carried does not count in the calculation of total units in the stack for the purpose of determining movement penalty.

    So for example a stack consisting of 1 mount and 4 non-mount corpses would incur a 1/4 penalty because one of those 4 corpses is never counted.


    Yeah that's better. I'll stick that in the relevant post.

    MarbitChow wrote:
    So what's next? Do we still need to formally end the turn, or are we able to pop another unit this turn? If we pop a unit, can it also move? (If so, I'm thinking we pop a corpse-bot and prepare to move on to the next target.)


    The answers are yes across the board. You need to specify end turn, you can pop whenever you feel like it, and once a unit is popped it's already capable to act at full capacity.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:25 am 
    User avatar
    Battle Crest Pins Supporter Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter This user is a Tool! Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Shiny Red Star Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter This user posted the comment of the month This user is a part of Erfworld canon! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:52 pm
    Posts: 4412
    Location: Morlock Wells
    So I'm thinking we request a Jolly Bee, because of the high move. It's tempting to go for an Archer since they can become mounts....but that's a lot of XP before that point and I think we want both these corpses going to the Starchild instead of popping a unit that isn't on a path close to theirs.

    On the topic of consuming corpses, I also suggest because each of us hasn't made our 1-time XP consumption, the first time we meet a good level target that matches our path exactly, we consume it ourselves rather than send back to the Starchild.

    _________________
    "I'm afraid I don't understand. And also afraid that I do."
    GJC wrote:
    Two guys with basically the same name in a discussion about a character getting cloned.
    There's gotta be a good joke in here somewhere.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:32 am 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:41 pm
    Posts: 2521
    0beron wrote:
    So I'm thinking we request a Jolly Bee, because of the high move. It's tempting to go for an Archer since they can become mounts....but that's a lot of XP before that point and I think we want both these corpses going to the Starchild instead of popping a unit that isn't on a path close to theirs.

    On the topic of consuming corpses, I also suggest because each of us hasn't made our 1-time XP consumption, the first time we meet a good level target that matches our path exactly, we consume it ourselves rather than send back to the Starchild.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but we consume *accumulated* XP, not the XP value of the unit. So, while the wolves are worth 40 XP, they themselves have not accumulated any XP, so they wouldn't be worth consuming for us.
    But yeah, I agree - pop a Jolly Bee, have it buzz it's butt over here, and have the new-bee start dragging the wolves back while we move onto the Mad Cow next turn.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:34 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    The Wolves are considered to have (somehow) aquired enough XP to get to level 2. One Wolf corpse will provide the max XP to a Melee/Might/Skill path unit- 72 points.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:38 am 
    User avatar
    Battle Crest Pins Supporter Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter This user is a Tool! Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Shiny Red Star Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter This user posted the comment of the month This user is a part of Erfworld canon! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:52 pm
    Posts: 4412
    Location: Morlock Wells
    I don't know off-hand if we have any such units amongst our Melee, but that's a pretty decent chunk of XP if they would like it. I'm greedy and might consider waiting till we find a level 3 unit, but the choice is yours guys. If both the wolves get eaten, we will wait to pop the Jolly Bee until it's needed (don't wanna pay her upkeep before she's needed). But if either corpse isn't eaten, we will pop her, have her begin her duties by the fastest route possible, and then end turn.

    _________________
    "I'm afraid I don't understand. And also afraid that I do."
    GJC wrote:
    Two guys with basically the same name in a discussion about a character getting cloned.
    There's gotta be a good joke in here somewhere.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:39 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    Well, Swodaems has the Melee/Might/Skill path. And Watermonkey314 hasn't specified it yet.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:44 am 
    User avatar
    Battle Crest Pins Supporter Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter This user is a Tool! Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Shiny Red Star Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter This user posted the comment of the month This user is a part of Erfworld canon! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:52 pm
    Posts: 4412
    Location: Morlock Wells
    Well, ya snooze, ya lose. This means there will be at least one corpse left regardless since Swod can only eat one if he even wants to, so we'll pop the Bee and have her move to us, grab corpse(s), and move back towards the city (how far she gets depends on the number of corpses of course), then end turn. If Watermonkey specifies his path, he can have one of the other wolves we fight later.

    _________________
    "I'm afraid I don't understand. And also afraid that I do."
    GJC wrote:
    Two guys with basically the same name in a discussion about a character getting cloned.
    There's gotta be a good joke in here somewhere.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:54 am 
    User avatar
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:41 pm
    Posts: 2521
    Agreed, Oberon. Let's get Swodaems his massive XP bonus already. :)

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:12 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    Then **sluurp** Swodaems' Patty flipper absorbs the knowledge of a fallen wolf, and receives 72XP. Along with the previous 10XP, that's enough for level up!

    Swodaems now has a Manager unit, with 2 out of 500 XPs until next level up, and your stack has leadership.

    You use 60 of your 100 Schmuckers to pop a Jolly Bee and bring it to the mine.

    I presume you wish to end turn.

    I'll deal with your next turn and setting it up in a few hours. Until then, I think it's safe to assume that each of your 9 units will receive one Schmucker of rations, apart from ETheBoyce's Patty flipper, who receives 10Schmuckers for healing. (So you use 18Schmuckers for upkeep).

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:19 am 
    User avatar
    Battle Crest Pins Supporter Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter This user is a Tool! Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Shiny Red Star Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter This user posted the comment of the month This user is a part of Erfworld canon! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:52 pm
    Posts: 4412
    Location: Morlock Wells
    ooooooh, found leadership :p
    Can you explain now what the benefit of Leadership is BLAND? The existing rules just say it is a bonus to Def/Com, and a bigger boost to Damage.

    _________________
    "I'm afraid I don't understand. And also afraid that I do."
    GJC wrote:
    Two guys with basically the same name in a discussion about a character getting cloned.
    There's gotta be a good joke in here somewhere.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 4:09 pm 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    Added the response to the rule post, but I'll provide it here for quick access:

    Units in stacks with leadership get +5 to Combat, +10% to armor (unalterable by armor damage spells), and +1 to damage.

    Anyway, moving inside the mine allowed you to peek a bit forward.

    Spoiler: show
    Image


    The abandoned city site can be converted into an L1 city for the price of 500 Schmuckers, but you need to defeat the {Barberian, Barberian, Barberian, Barberian}/{Hare stylist, <blank>, <blank>, Hare stylist} stack that's dwelling there.

    Hare stylist: Archer/Might/Skill, 5H, 0Def, 60 Combat, 85% CtH, 2x 2Dmg (Matter); each Hare stylist grants 16XP to the croaking stack. Considered to be Level 2, and would grant a max of 36 XP to an Archer/Might/Skill path unit.
    Barberian: Melee/Might/Skill, 13H, 0Def, 50 Combat, 85% CtH, 2x 3Dmg (Matter); each Barberian grants 16Xp to the croaking stack. Considered to be Level 2, and would grant a max of 72 XP to a Melee/Might/Skill path unit.

    Units in the abandoned city site get a 10% bonus to Def.

    Apart from that, you didn't notice anything unusual about the turn. No wild units popped nor moved nor disappeared mysteriously, no foreign units entered the region.

    Your treasury has 222 Schmuckers.

    You have one Wolf carcass stacked with a new Jolly Bee.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.


    Last edited by BLANDCorporatio on Mon Jul 16, 2012 4:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.
  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 4:16 pm 
    User avatar
    Battle Crest Pins Supporter Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter This user is a Tool! Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Shiny Red Star Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter This user posted the comment of the month This user is a part of Erfworld canon! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:52 pm
    Posts: 4412
    Location: Morlock Wells
    Send the Corpse-tote Jolly Bee back to the Starchild so it can consume the corpse for XP, and have the Bee remain there.
    As for our next move, I want that abandoned city site as soon as we can get it....but I'm doubtful we could do that JUST yet. I suggest we move towards the closest target that matches one of our lvl 1 melee units perfectly so they can consume as well. I think once we have a lvl 2 front row, we'll be able to take the city site.

    EDIT: also, do the bonuses to Combat and Def mean a percent of the unit's base value? (as in, with a combat of 40 and a defense of 0, I now have 42 combat and still 0 defense?

    _________________
    "I'm afraid I don't understand. And also afraid that I do."
    GJC wrote:
    Two guys with basically the same name in a discussion about a character getting cloned.
    There's gotta be a good joke in here somewhere.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 4:19 pm 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    I'd like to remind you that there's no need to stick together in one stack. Hopefully, with enough units, each of you gets their own stack to coordinate (even if not 'officially' lead; I'm friendly to the possibility that your unit lacks leadership, another in its stack DOES have leadership, nonetheless it's you who calls the shots).

    Just something to consider for the near future.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 4:20 pm 
    User avatar
    Battle Crest Pins Supporter Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter This user is a Tool! Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Shiny Red Star Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter This user posted the comment of the month This user is a part of Erfworld canon! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:52 pm
    Posts: 4412
    Location: Morlock Wells
    BLANDCorporatio wrote:
    I'd like to remind you that there's no need to stick together in one stack.
    Just something to consider for the near future.

    Yeah my level 2 perk is gonna be leadership so as soon as I hit that I'll be forming my own stack.
    Also, see my question above about how exactly Leadership applies to buffing stats (flat bonus or % of the base value)

    _________________
    "I'm afraid I don't understand. And also afraid that I do."
    GJC wrote:
    Two guys with basically the same name in a discussion about a character getting cloned.
    There's gotta be a good joke in here somewhere.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
    Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
     
    Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 347 posts ] 

    Board index » Your Things » Your Games


    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

     
     

     
    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum

    Search for:
    Jump to: