Forum    Members    Search    FAQ

Board index » Your Things » Your Games




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 494 posts ] 
 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 4:58 pm 
User avatar
This user has been published!
Offline
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:53 pm
Posts: 3248
Sihoiba wrote:
1) questions, we only scout at the beginning of turn correct?
2) Who rolls the d5's for foraging?


1) Correct. Lookamancers are different, in that you choose this turn what you will see at the beginning of the next turn
2) Players should roll their own d5s. Use the spreadsheet, enter the time of post in the combat page, then switch to the Calliari page and determine how many extra points you earn.

I might need to clarify that units can only forage once per turn, and may not move after foraging. Also, each stack that forages produces one unit of "ravaged" - so three stacks can make an area barren in one turn.

HerbieRai wrote:
Freddy is going to switch to the peasant piker stack and use dirtamancy to increase the walls to 65, then restack with the conscript archers and resume defending the piker stack.


Just remember that walls cannot be increased above their maximum rating, which is 20 + 20 x level of the city up to a maximum of 100. See the rules on walls.

Twoy wrote:
I assume the Kingdom of Narnia does not get pop points or pay upkeep on Turn 1.


No - the Kingdom starts with 100 schmuckers per player + 40 per open hex within 2 of the city (except i5 - it has non-allied troops present) and pays upkeep and earns income as of turn 1.

_________________
Benemala Edupad OCC

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:22 pm 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    "Well guv," El Flatulissimo says, "just coz they'z far away don't mean we can't build forts round our cities. Just point and we'z there buildin' yo forts."

    For some reason, the Eww warlord sees fit to demonstrate his building ability with a wet machine-gun fart.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:28 pm 
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 12:50 pm
    Posts: 584
    Dothwaki Swaves will forage in C5.

    Time 2802 results in a 1 on a d5.

    So the foraging provides 48 pop points.

    Taking the Dothwaki to 142.8 pop points.


    Last edited by Sihoiba on Thu Jun 16, 2011 4:19 am, edited 2 times in total.
  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:28 pm 
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 12:50 pm
    Posts: 584
    Pop one more Dothwaki Wife

    Dothwaki Wives will forage in C5. 117.8 pop points left. Upkeep now 66.2.

    Time 2824 results in 4 on a d5. So that's 40+5x4 = 60 points from foraging.

    Dothwaki now have 177.8 pop points.

    The Dothwaki Wives stack (5x Dothwaki Wife, Khal Dwogo) Guards the Dothwaki Rider stack (4x Dothwaki Rider, Jhogo, Khalessi Daenawys)
    Dwogo use Foolamancy to increase his stacks defence.

    Using the seed of 1030 from the post when I popped Daenawys, results in a 1 on a d5. So she is level 2.


    Last edited by Sihoiba on Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:23 pm, edited 3 times in total.
  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:39 pm 
    Has collected at least one unit Here for the 10th Anniversary
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:40 pm
    Posts: 808
    Can we still relay orders like before?

    If yes, I think the Zerglings will spread out rapidly to forage outlying hexes and passively scout with the free 2 scout. They're cheap, so it's not a tragedy if they get killed by something off map.

    Hexes that stand out are D6 and H4; I'll probably split up the Foragers and send half off each way. The Zerglings should be able to cover all upkeep solely by foraging D6; my goal is to turn a net profit to send pop points to the Kingdom as need be.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 12:02 am 
    User avatar
    This user has been published!
    Offline
    Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:53 pm
    Posts: 3248
    Yes, units can convey orders to other units.

    @Sihoiba, the convention where I'm from is that Xd5 would mean rolling X number of d5s, rather than rolling one and multiplying by X.
    Like 2d6 is rolling two dice, not one die multiplied by two.

    I wasn't very clear in the rules (dang assumed knowledge), but I had in mind that foraging players would put int he time, and then highlight the appropriate number of d5 results in excel, which adds them up nicely for you. But your way is probably easier on the brain. As long as players promise not to delete posts until they get a good number, then we'll do foraging Sihoiba's way.
    Also, if you have multiple foraging stacks, you might like to make a single forage roll, and take the other d5 results for each stack.

    Also, if Daenwys is your second character with foolamancy, she will cost 150 to pop - each reiteration of the special costs as much as the previous one + 50. I'd suggest popping the character, but adding on the foolamancy in another turn.

    _________________
    Benemala Edupad OCC

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 4:22 am 
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 12:50 pm
    Posts: 584
    Bland. Ok I misunderstood how you intended us to use the spreadsheet. Also I can afford to buy Daenawys Foolamancy if I do it after foraging, so I've edited all the posts to reflect this,

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 4:43 am 
    User avatar
    This user has been published!
    Offline
    Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:53 pm
    Posts: 3248
    Sadly, no.

    LTDave wrote:
    To simplify money matters, only Schmuckers left in a factions treasury from a previous turn can be spent in a current turn. All income earned or received in a turn cannot be spent until the next turn.

    _________________
    Benemala Edupad OCC

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 10:59 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 1:58 pm
    Posts: 625
    So there are 30 hexes around our cities to generate income, minus the 1 for i5 is 29

    29 * 40 = 1160
    1160 + 400 = 1560 smuckers

    upkeeps
    King Edmund's Centaurs: 39.2
    Stefan's Eagews: 31.2
    Konrad's Stabbers: 2.8
    El Flatulissimo's Archers: 39
    Freddies Conscripts: 21
    Freddies Peasants: 17.5
    Total: 150.7
    (if commanders count this will be +45 = 195.7)
    This leaves us with 1560 - 150.7 + 8(Twoy) + 10(nih) + 15(herb) + 10 (bland) = 1452.3

    I see no reason not to spend/give away a large quantitiy of these points, since we're generating around 1500/ turn and our costs are less than 200. I'll let the ruler decide where to allocate the pop points.

    Question: Do we need to pay for our warlords upkeeps? We'll still have plenty of cash, but it changes our totals a bit.

    Edit: The finances wont be nessicary until next turn, although seeing our income can help our planning.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 12:26 pm 
    Offline
    Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 3:55 pm
    Posts: 820
    HerbieRai,
    I read the rules differently, but they are not completely clear. What is an "open hex"?

    Income is derived from controlled open hexes within two hexes of controlled cities. 40 Schmuckers per open hex.

    The Map:
    Spoiler: show
    Open Hex – Cost 1 movement for all units to enter. No Defence advantage.
    Woods Hex – Cost 2 movement for all non-flying units to enter. Cost 1 movement for
    Flying units. Flying units may only be engaged by Archer units in Woods. All Ground
    Stacks gain 20 Defence in Woods.
    Mountain Hex – Cost 2 movement for Flyers. No other unit can enter.
    Lake Hex – Cost 1 movement for Flyers. No other unit can enter.


    Regardless of the definition of "Open hex," the nation will pay the 151 points of upkeep.

    Now the question is "How many points do we have left?"

    Is it 1,453 or 929?

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:23 pm 
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 12:50 pm
    Posts: 584
    LTDave wrote:
    Sadly, no.

    LTDave wrote:
    To simplify money matters, only Schmuckers left in a factions treasury from a previous turn can be spent in a current turn. All income earned or received in a turn cannot be spent until the next turn.



    Oops ok Fixed

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:31 pm 
    Has collected at least one unit Here for the 10th Anniversary
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:40 pm
    Posts: 808
    Twoy wrote:
    HerbieRai,
    I read the rules differently, but they are not completely clear. What is an "open hex"?

    Income is derived from controlled open hexes within two hexes of controlled cities. 40 Schmuckers per open hex.

    The Map:
    Spoiler: show
    Open Hex – Cost 1 movement for all units to enter. No Defence advantage.
    Woods Hex – Cost 2 movement for all non-flying units to enter. Cost 1 movement for
    Flying units. Flying units may only be engaged by Archer units in Woods. All Ground
    Stacks gain 20 Defence in Woods.
    Mountain Hex – Cost 2 movement for Flyers. No other unit can enter.
    Lake Hex – Cost 1 movement for Flyers. No other unit can enter.


    Regardless of the definition of "Open hex," the nation will pay the 151 points of upkeep.

    Now the question is "How many points do we have left?"

    Is it 1,453 or 929?


    Oh. I'd like a clarification for the barbarians as well - can we only forage open hexes? (that is, not woods?)

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 1:24 am 
    User avatar
    This user has been published!
    Offline
    Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:53 pm
    Posts: 3248
    An excellent question.

    Again, assumed convention. In my wargaming circles, an open hex is one with 'open' terrain, that is, plain or grassland.
    Woods, Mountains, Water hexes - none of these are open, and cannot be used to generate income or for foraging.

    So, just the plain white hexes can be used for income or foraging.

    _________________
    Benemala Edupad OCC

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:08 pm 
    Has collected at least one unit Here for the 10th Anniversary
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:40 pm
    Posts: 808
    LtDave, thanks for the answer.

    Alright - the Zerglings are on the move:

    1) Restack Gamma:
    • Archers: 1 x Turtle, Gamma L2

    2) Send 8 x Forager, 1 x Turtle, Cmdr. Beta L2 SE, SE to H4. Stack as follows:
    • Foragers: 8 x Forager
    • Command: 1 x Turtle, Cmdr. Beta L2

    3) Send 11 x Forager, 2 x Turtle, Cmdr. Delta L3, Cmdr. Alpha L4 NW NW to D6. Stack as follows:
    • Foragers: 8 x Forager (guards Command)
    • Command: 2 x Turtle, Cmdr. Alpha L4 (guarded by Foragers)
    • Screen 1: 1 x Forager
    • Screen 2: 1 x Forager
    • Screen 3: 1 x Forager

    4) Stack "Foragers" at D6 forages the hex for 40 + 8d5 pop points. Total will show up in the next post.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:15 pm 
    Has collected at least one unit Here for the 10th Anniversary
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:40 pm
    Posts: 808
    From the SSRNG, the total for 8 d5's at post time 0801 is 19. (I prefer the way as intended by LtDave as it's more stable and less vulnerable to chance)

    Now, bookkeeping:

    Turn 0 surplus: 95
    Beginning forces at Turn 1: 205 pop point equivalent (ppe)
    Upkeep @ 20% = 41 pp

    Turn 1 instant upkeep cash: 200
    Turn 1 foraging income: 40 + 19 = 59
    Turn 1 popping expenditures: 0

    Turn 1 surplus: 313 pp
    Projected Turn 2 upkeep: 41 pp

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 10:32 pm 
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:17 am
    Posts: 938
    Saruham's stack will move to G9.

    Purse: 4
    Income: 200 points
    Upkeep: 78.4
    Net: 125.6

    Okay, clarification on the rules. Can we move then forage? Or can we not move in the same turn we forage at all.

    If we can move then forage, Saruham's stack will forage as well.

    _________________
    Prehendo Victoria - My first erfworld story. Comment thread

    Last Updated 07/14/2017

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:05 pm 
    User avatar
    This user has been published!
    Offline
    Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:53 pm
    Posts: 3248
    LTDave wrote:
    [I might need to clarify that units can only forage once per turn, and may not move after foraging.


    Yes, they can move before foraging. They cannot forage before moving.

    _________________
    Benemala Edupad OCC

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:11 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:34 pm
    Posts: 5
    New barbarian faction :

    Scarlet Tribe
    Code:
    Specialities:
    1. Rockin’ Out
    2.
    3.

    Units:
    (F) Baby Zeker    10   Hits   10   Attack   0   Defence   4   Move   Cost Per   39   
    (F) Big Zeker    25   Hits   25   Attack   0   Defence   4   Move   Cost Per   120   
    (C) Doow Puppy    8   Hits   8   Attack   0   Defence   3   Move   Cost Per   25   
    (St) Bloody Waid    8   Hits   8   Attack   0   Defence   2   Move   Cost Per   20

    Starting situation :

    Stack A : Cost 376, Maintenance 56                                    
    1   Big Zeker    25   Hits   25   Attack   0   Defence   4   Move   Cost Per   120   24
    1   Baby Zeker    10   Hits   10   Attack   0   Defence   4   Move   Cost Per   39   8
    1   Baby Zeker    10   Hits   10   Attack   0   Defence   4   Move   Cost Per   39   8
    1   Baby Zeker    10   Hits   10   Attack   0   Defence   4   Move   Cost Per   39   8
    1   Baby Zeker    10   Hits   10   Attack   0   Defence   4   Move   Cost Per   39   8
    1   Flanchan Da Scary      (Commander ; Rockin' Out)                        100   
    Anywhere near Stack B

    Stack B : Cost 25, Maintenance 5                                    
    1   Doow Puppy    8   Hits   8   Attack   0   Defence   3   Move   Cost Per   25   5
    Preferably in an open Hex


    The Scarlet Tribe was already barbarian before the fall of Unaroyal.
    Not so much a tribe than the play-things of the entity known as "Flachan Da Scary", this group is known for the ravages it causes on its path.
    Their leader, Flachan, has the mentality of child, coupled with psychopathic twists that make her ravish in battles.
    This has been an problem in the past for many nations until they understood how to turn it to their advantage.
    By pointing the little girl and its minions in the right direction : the one of their enemies...

    This led to Flachan tagging along the Allied Expeditionary forces sent to capture Gobwin Bump.
    The area was supposed to be filled with "toys" :
    Vicious Gobwinarians, hard-to-kill Arthurians, squishy C-Elfs... and of course many, many forces of Stanley the Tool.

    Now, for whatever reason, Flachan's employers seem to be confused.
    She didn't really care about the reasons behind that.
    'Cause the girl just wanna have fun...


    The Scarlet Tribe's goals :
    There are only two :
    Survive, as any barbarian faction is trying.
    Have fun. Or rather make Flachan have "fun".
    Any faction who can help to fulfil those goals will be seen as "friend".
    Which means Flachan won't just attack them.
    At least not until she got reeeeally bored...

    For fluff, I will always try to keep Flachan Da Scary with a Big Zeker.
    So, let's Rockin' Out


    Last edited by Johel3007 on Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:29 am, edited 2 times in total.
  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 5:28 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    Johel3007: hello and welcome! Scary faction you got there, let's hope Flachan will channel her ... proclivities ... constructively :P

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:29 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 3:55 pm
    Posts: 820
    Johel,
    The combined score of Attack and Defence may not exceed hits.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
    Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
     
    Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 494 posts ] 

    Board index » Your Things » Your Games


    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

     
     

     
    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum

    Search for:
    Jump to: