Forum    Members    Search    FAQ

Board index » Your Things » Your Games




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 227 posts ] 
 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:37 am 
User avatar
Year of the Dwagon Supporter
Offline
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
Posts: 3447
Heads-up, I'll be offline from Friday evening to Sunday mid-day my local time.

But so far, I've resolved scouting orders for both sides and any outstanding orders for Imaginary Acid Rain. No orders from Side B yet.

Send in whatever you might need asap, and I might get to those before I leave. If not, Sunday's not far off.

PS:

Ferr-derp, Side B has finished Scouting phase.

Both sides are currently on Turn 1, combat phase.

_________________
The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:31 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    Got some orders from both sides for combat purposes. Will resolve later today.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:18 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    So far, I've managed to go by with a simple unit state notation, but if things get too much like advanced algebra, drop me a line.

    Quick primer,

    L stands for Level, and usually you'll see stuff like L3.1 (level 3 unit, 1XP)
    WilAtt means that unit made a wilful attack that turn,
    ShockUse means it used Shockamancy,
    HealUse means it used Healomancy,
    Trap-layed means it layed a trap,
    Trap-spot means it spotted one
    Trap-dis means it disarmed one
    Built means it built something that turn,
    H3/5 means it's a unit of 5 Hits with 3 left
    M3/5 means it's a unit of 5 Move with 3 left

    and of course {} is the sign I use for listing what a unit carries. It gets a bit nasty as I can list

    Unit <stats like L, H, M>

    on the same line,

    but Unit {carried unit(s)} will go <stats for carrier> {<stats for carried>}

    and of course

    15x Dummy {Dummyer} L1.1 WilAtt H4/5 M2/5 {L1.0 Trap-layed H3/3 M2/2}

    means I have a stack of 15 Dummy units, all of which have level 1 and 1XP, have attacked wilfully this turn, have 4 out of 5 hits and 2 out of 5 move remaining, and each of them carries a Dummyer unit. All of the Dummyer units are level 1 no XP, have layed a trap, have 3 out of 3 Hits and 2 out of 2 Move remaining.

    It's easy when you see it used. :P

    EDIT:

    Resolved outstanding orders from both sides.

    EDIT, 2:

    I owe both sides some book-keeping. Nothing major (all outstanding orders are resolved and unit statuses known), but things for convenience. Each of you knows what. I'll get to it, worry not :)

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:42 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    PS:

    I am sooo tempted right now to add a diplomacy system. I made all island factions start as neutral to you for a reason ;)

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:22 pm 
    Has collected at least one unit Here for the 10th Anniversary
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:40 pm
    Posts: 808
    BLANDCorporatio wrote:
    PS:

    I am sooo tempted right now to add a diplomacy system. I made all island factions start as neutral to you for a reason ;)


    That's actually something I want to toss into the TAW campaign at some point. :D

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:26 am 
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 5:59 pm
    Posts: 122
    BLANDCorporatio wrote:
    Damage after Defense.
    So if the enemy stack deals (after Defense is taken into account) 90 Hits (and chooses no targeting), and you have a 10 Attack Healomancer, rather than suffering 90Hits loss you just lose 80.


    quick question

    when you say "after defense is taken into account", does that mean in the damage formula given in TBF Oddworld(x2) manual and is damage then dealt directly to the defending stacks hits? (minus healomancy etc)


    WaterMonkey314 wrote:
    BLANDCorporatio wrote:
    PS:

    I am sooo tempted right now to add a diplomacy system. I made all island factions start as neutral to you for a reason ;)


    if you mean diplomacy between sides and critters then i'd not be so sure it only adds more book keeping IMO. dont get me wrong the idea has potential but i'd reather you not throw it in at this point in the game i'd prefer we had already know about it.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:40 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    Stryke wrote:
    BLANDCorporatio wrote:
    Damage after Defense.
    So if the enemy stack deals (after Defense is taken into account) 90 Hits (and chooses no targeting), and you have a 10 Attack Healomancer, rather than suffering 90Hits loss you just lose 80.


    quick question

    when you say "after defense is taken into account", does that mean in the damage formula given in TBF Oddworld(x2) manual and is damage then dealt directly to the defending stacks hits? (minus healomancy etc)


    If I understand your question correctly, yes.

    The idea is like this- a stack of units has a certain Attack power (simply, the sum of the Attack of all units in it that fight in the battle). This raw power is then affected by factors from the attacking stack (level, leadership, stack bonuses ...) as well as the defending stack (avg. defense, including any terrain bonus that might apply). It's these factors applied to the raw Attack power that eventually determine a certain Damage dealt to the defending stack.

    The story doesn't end here- you can choose to allocate this Damage to units in some other order than stack order (called targeting), but as mentioned in the rules, at a penalty. A severe one if you target warlords, so that assassination strikes, while possible (and often quite advisable) are not trivial to pull off.

    Against this Damage, the defender may also allocate Healers.


    Stryke wrote:
    if you mean diplomacy between sides and critters then i'd not be so sure it only adds more book keeping IMO. dont get me wrong the idea has potential but i'd reather you not throw it in at this point in the game i'd prefer we had already know about it.


    "Tempted by" doesn't mean that I will. The rules from the start are the rules we will end this scenario with, even though they contain (at least) one grievious oversight* that has nothing to do with critters.

    It's not just for consistency's sake. Something kinda major happened to prompt me to make that comment, and changing the rules on the fly in regards to diplomacy would not mesh well with that event.

    *: it's a problem of starting the cycles. I didn't pay attention to it. Next scenario in TBfOddworld(x2) will have that bug fixed though.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:35 pm 
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 5:59 pm
    Posts: 122
    BLANDCorporatio wrote:
    Stryke wrote:
    BLANDCorporatio wrote:
    Damage after Defense.
    So if the enemy stack deals (after Defense is taken into account) 90 Hits (and chooses no targeting), and you have a 10 Attack Healomancer, rather than suffering 90Hits loss you just lose 80.


    quick question

    when you say "after defense is taken into account", does that mean in the damage formula given in TBF Oddworld(x2) manual and is damage then dealt directly to the defending stacks hits? (minus healomancy etc)


    If I understand your question correctly, yes.

    The idea is like this- a stack of units has a certain Attack power (simply, the sum of the Attack of all units in it that fight in the battle). This raw power is then affected by factors from the attacking stack (level, leadership, stack bonuses ...) as well as the defending stack (avg. defense, including any terrain bonus that might apply). It's these factors applied to the raw Attack power that eventually determine a certain Damage dealt to the defending stack.

    The story doesn't end here- you can choose to allocate this Damage to units in some other order than stack order (called targeting), but as mentioned in the rules, at a penalty. A severe one if you target warlords, so that assassination strikes, while possible (and often quite advisable) are not trivial to pull off.

    Against this Damage, the defender may also allocate Healers.



    from the answer i'd say you understood the question, thanks for the speedy reply, turn 1 attack orders have been sent for The Clansmen

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 8:32 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    Ferr-d-KLANG

    A paradox has occurred. The Generic Scots have entered Turn 2, before Imaginary Acid Rain finished even Turn 1!

    However, since the two sides are no longer far apart (there may be ways for one to bring units at the edge of the other's visibility), out-of-turn-order resolution must stop.

    So, ehm, Imaginary Acid Rain, get a move on to finishing that Turn 1, AND Turn 2, please.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 8:39 am 
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 5:59 pm
    Posts: 122
    BLANDCorporatio wrote:
    A paradox has occurred.


    Image

    thats actually just given me an awsome idea for a shockmancy unit

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 7:31 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    Ferr-derrp!

    Imaginary Acid Rain has completed Turn 1. So have the Generic Scots, so Imaginary Acid Rain is now at Turn 2.

    Simultaneous Turn resolution must stop, since one side might bump into the other. However, no harm if:

    Imaginary Acid Rain: is now at Turn 2.

    Generic Scots: is now at Recruitment for Turn 2.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:46 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    Remember Imaginary Acid Rain, it's your turn and I'm waiting for your orders.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 7:39 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    I repeat, it's I.A.R. turn, and I'm waiting for orders. I'm tempted to set a deadline in place, because it's been quite a long time now.

    So how's Monday- as in, around 12:00 (PM) GMT Monday, I declare IAR's turn to be over?

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 7:41 am 
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 12:50 pm
    Posts: 584
    Could you give us a bit more time, I don't really have much time to look at it this weekend?

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 12:45 pm 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    Ok, make it Tuesday then. But it's been a long time already, send some orders until Tuesday please.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 7:09 pm 
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 5:59 pm
    Posts: 122
    Awsome this game isn't dead after all :D

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 9:21 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    Indeed. Gosh, we've only just started. I can't wait to see which path you take toward island domination.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:40 am 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    Ferrr-d-rrreF

    Turn swap has occurred.

    The Generic Scots are now on Turn 2!

    Right, I think I have some scouting orders from LTDave, which I'll be resolving later today as well as any others sent in the meantime.

    EDIT: oops, delayed resolving the scouting orders from Dave. But now they are. So that's ok.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 4:40 pm 
    User avatar
    Year of the Dwagon Supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:24 am
    Posts: 3447
    Received scouting orders from I.A.R. but I'm not having last orders from Generic Scots- are you sure, Generic Scots, that you did all you could this turn? If so, tell me and I'll end your turn and process the orders from I.A.R.

    _________________
    The whole point of this is lost if you keep it a secret.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:02 pm 
    User avatar
    This user has been published!
    Offline
    Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:53 pm
    Posts: 3248
    Apart from Watermonkey, I think we're all done.

    If Watermonkey says end turn, I'm ok with that.

    Cheers

    _________________
    Benemala Edupad OCC

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
    Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
     
    Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 227 posts ] 

    Board index » Your Things » Your Games


    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

     
     

     
    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum

    Search for:
    Jump to: