Forum    Members    Search    FAQ

Board index » Erfworld Things » Everything Else Erfworld




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
 
Author Message
 Post subject: Magic Kingdom turns
 Post Posted: Mon May 27, 2013 2:20 am 
User avatar
Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
Offline
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 8:06 am
Posts: 63
Location: Czech Republic
How does the turn order work for MK, or they have turn all day (how about night) long, not being a real side? Then again even barbarians have their turn order.

_________________
Image

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Magic Kingdom turns
     Post Posted: Mon May 27, 2013 5:03 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:22 am
    Posts: 108
    Location: Not Constantinople.
    Intocabille_CZ wrote:
    How does the turn order work for MK, or they have turn all day (how about night) long, not being a real side? Then again even barbarians have their turn order.

    Since it's occupied by units of multiple antagonistic sides, the inhabitants of the Magic Kingdom could technically engage one another at any time, barring juice restrictions. This is why the "neutral ground" rules are a matter of consensus and convention rather than in-built game mechanics.

    _________________
    "If you leave out important things or events that you know about, the story is strengthened. If you leave or skip something because you do not know it, the story will be worthless." - Hemingway

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Magic Kingdom turns
     Post Posted: Mon May 27, 2013 3:06 pm 
    User avatar
    Battle Crest Pins Supporter Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter This user is a Tool! Year of the Dwagon Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Shiny Red Star Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter This user posted the comment of the month This user is a part of Erfworld canon! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:52 pm
    Posts: 4412
    Location: Morlock Wells
    Well if you are part of a side, your turn order does seem to fit into the MK "day" somewhere, because Wanda had to go into the MK to fetch Sizemore and she seemed annoyed that he hadn't noticed the Turn had begun. But I don't believe we know if that effects your actions within the MK.
    The main thing is that casters are said to be unable to cast off-turn, but I'm pretty sure that "rule" has been broken in the MK, so it may be that while in the MK, everyone is "on turn".

    _________________
    "I'm afraid I don't understand. And also afraid that I do."
    GJC wrote:
    Two guys with basically the same name in a discussion about a character getting cloned.
    There's gotta be a good joke in here somewhere.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Magic Kingdom turns
     Post Posted: Mon May 27, 2013 4:52 pm 
    Offline
    Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:22 am
    Posts: 108
    Location: Not Constantinople.
    0beron wrote:
    The main thing is that casters are said to be unable to cast off-turn, but I'm pretty sure that "rule" has been broken in the MK, so it may be that while in the MK, everyone is "on turn".

    No, the rule is still in effect. You can cast off-turn if there are hostiles in your hex. It's likely that, as is the case with leadership, casters can choose not to engage. So you have a situation where the Magic Kingdom hex is technically perpetually contested territory, except no actual fighting happens for rather pragmatic reasons.

    _________________
    "If you leave out important things or events that you know about, the story is strengthened. If you leave or skip something because you do not know it, the story will be worthless." - Hemingway

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Magic Kingdom turns
     Post Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 1:48 am 
    User avatar
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 8:06 am
    Posts: 63
    Location: Czech Republic
    If that is the case then I assume that if there are no allied casters, they belong to barbarians, so the turn of MK starts as soon as the day starts (if I recall correctly, barbarians go first?).
    Also it means that the spells duration is measured by unit the spell is cast by. Otherwise it would be kinda foolish, like calming down Jojo on his turn while it was "yours" and the spell would start working on his turn, but since you are engaging, then he still can protect...

    MK sure is messed up place. :)

    A side thought, how do sides with no casters purchase services of MK? Lets elave out Charlie (he pops only arhcons who are avian knights or something like that, but not casters, but he has thinkamancy). I mean how do you hire a caster, if you do not have a caster to enter the MK in the first place. And you do not have a caster to send a thinkagram to MK to hire a caster? Then again, perhaps natural leader thinkamancy can do that?

    _________________
    Image

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Magic Kingdom turns
     Post Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 2:36 am 
    E is for Erfworld Supporter This user was a Tool before it was cool Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:15 pm
    Posts: 1439
    Well, presumably, you can think really hard and contact charlie and he'll send a message to the MK for you, for a price.

    _________________
    For those in the USA: Have you wondered what you would do during in the civil rights movement, or in the 1930s?

    Well, what did you do yesterday? Now you know.

    Let's all be the kind of people we wish everyone had been then. Show up. Call. Resist.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Magic Kingdom turns
     Post Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 3:13 am 
    Here for the 10th Anniversary
    Offline
    Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 5:55 pm
    Posts: 1491
    I expect that casters can visit your side to offer their services without being invited. As long as they are peaceful about it, that is not a violation of neutrality. In fact, I'm sure most sides would be very happy to accept visiting casters as guests for negotiations about possible services. Of course that might all be ruined if enemy casters start using the Magic Kingdom to stage attacks.

    Plus, I wouldn't be surprised if Charlie is not the only Thinkamancer that can be contacted mentally, and if you can contact the Magic Kingdom that way then you can arrange to hire any type of caster, with the Thinkamancer getting a percentage of the fee.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Magic Kingdom turns
     Post Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 6:01 am 
    Offline
    Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:22 am
    Posts: 108
    Location: Not Constantinople.
    Lilwik wrote:
    I expect that casters can visit your side to offer their services without being invited. As long as they are peaceful about it, that is not a violation of neutrality.

    This seems like a plausible explanation.

    I wonder if barbarians can pop in the Magic Kingdom.

    _________________
    "If you leave out important things or events that you know about, the story is strengthened. If you leave or skip something because you do not know it, the story will be worthless." - Hemingway

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Magic Kingdom turns
     Post Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 7:26 am 
    User avatar
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 8:06 am
    Posts: 63
    Location: Czech Republic
    Doctor Foreman wrote:
    I wonder if barbarians can pop in the Magic Kingdom.


    That would be interesting. Random caster unit popping in MK and then going through portal to offer turning to that portal´s side. :)

    _________________
    Image

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Magic Kingdom turns
     Post Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 9:31 am 
    This user was a Tool before it was cool This user is a Tool! Here for the 10th Anniversary
    Offline
    Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 10:11 pm
    Posts: 924
    Predictamancers can Predict when a casterless side will need a caster, and can make arrangements for a nominal fee. Someone could be running a temp agency for casters.

    Also, there may be a mechanism in place like a job board. A Ruler can write a work request and send it through a magick hat.

    "Gobwin Knob is in need of a Signmancer to help with building upgrades in the city of DwagonCon. Term of contract will be until the city has reached level 2. Offering 5000 smuckers."

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Magic Kingdom turns
     Post Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 9:45 am 
    User avatar
    Print Book 2 & Draw Book 3 Supporter This user is a Tool! Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter Here for the 10th Anniversary
    Offline
    Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:36 pm
    Posts: 1909
    I suspect that casters normally pop soon enough that purchasing services in the MK before your first caster is probably not a big issue.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Magic Kingdom turns
     Post Posted: Fri May 31, 2013 5:34 am 
    User avatar
    Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 8:06 am
    Posts: 63
    Location: Czech Republic
    drachefly wrote:
    I suspect that casters normally pop soon enough that purchasing services in the MK before your first caster is probably not a big issue.


    Some sides with unlucky town may not be able to pop casters at all. Charlie does not pop casters for example. But he is a special case. But I guess that as some city can not pop gwifons, some will not pop caster.

    _________________
    Image

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Magic Kingdom turns
     Post Posted: Fri May 31, 2013 5:43 am 
    User avatar
    This user was a Tool before it was cool Pin-up Calendar and New Art Team Supporter Here for the 10th Anniversary E is for Erfworld Supporter Has collected at least one unit This user is a Tool! Erfworld Bicycle® Playing Cards supporter
    Offline
    Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 7:11 am
    Posts: 56
    Intocabille_CZ wrote:
    drachefly wrote:
    I suspect that casters normally pop soon enough that purchasing services in the MK before your first caster is probably not a big issue.


    Some sides with unlucky town may not be able to pop casters at all. Charlie does not pop casters for example. But he is a special case. But I guess that as some city can not pop gwifons, some will not pop caster.


    It has been stated that: Every warlord have a chance to pop as a caster. A new side has an increased likelyhood of popping a caster (though the nature of the ruler seems to influence this too, ie. Jillian in new FAQ). Every level 2 city and above has the ability to pop warlords.

    So yes, level 1 cities are incapable of popping warlords.
    Charlie doesn't pop warlords at all, so naturally he wouldn't get any casters.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
     Post subject: Re: Magic Kingdom turns
     Post Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 8:17 am 
    This user is a Tool! Here for the 10th Anniversary Has collected at least one unit
    Offline
    Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 6:04 am
    Posts: 472
    Intocabille_CZ wrote:
    Doctor Foreman wrote:
    I wonder if barbarians can pop in the Magic Kingdom.


    That would be interesting. Random caster unit popping in MK and then going through portal to offer turning to that portal´s side. :)


    I has somewhere been written that there is no shame being in the MK unless you are a Predictomancer. Which I interpreted as no popping in the MK, all casters that live there has been ordered to evacuate by their ruler.

  • Tip this post

    Make Anonymous
  • Top 
       
    Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
     
    Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

    Board index » Erfworld Things » Everything Else Erfworld


    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

     
     

     
    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum

    Search for:
    Jump to: